< Back to Institutions

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology

( Motto: )
Photo Visit official website
Population of Students: 25,000
Brief Histroy: In 1987, Governor Adetunji Olurin, then the military governor of Oyo State, received to a request by the Governing Council of the Polytechnic Ibadan to establish a state university.[2] He set up a committee that, in 1988, recommended the creation of the university. By March 13, 1990, Nigeria's federal military government accepted the state's request to set up the new university, and the edict establishing Oyo State University of Technology was signed on April 23, 1990. The first Vice-Chancellor of the University was Professor Olusegun Ladimeji Oke. Bashorun M.K.O. Abiola became the first Chancellor in January 1991. The first academic session began on October 19, 1990. A total of 436 candidates enrolled in four faculties: namely, Agricultural Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Engineering and Management Sciences, and Pure and Applied Sciences. A College of Health Sciences was established a year later.