< Back to Institutions

University Of Lagos

( Motto: In deed and in Truth )
Photo Visit official website
Population of over 20,000 students
Brief Histroy: The idea of the University of Lagos was contained in the Report of the Ashby Commission on Post-School Certificate and Higher Education in Nigeria and the subsequent report of the Advisory Commission of the UNESCO for the establishment of the University presented to the Government in September, 1960. The University of Lagos was established by an Act of the Federal Parliament in ApriL 1962. Its development was planned to take place in three phases. The first phase began in October 1962 with the establishment of the Faculty of Business and Social Studies, the Faculty of Law and a Medical School which was conceived at the outset as an autonomous unit of the University and linked with a Teaching Hospital (LUTH). The second phase began in October, 1964 with the establishment of the Faculty of Engineering, the Schools of African and Asian Studies, Humanities, Biological Sciences, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, the College of Education, Continuing Education Centre (CEC). the Institute of Mass Communication and the Comparative Education Study and Adaptation Centre (CESAC). The third phase of the University's development was interrupted somewhat by the University crisis of 1965 followed by the national crisis of 1967-1970. In April, 1967, however, the Medical School officially became College of Medicine while the Faculty of Business and Social Studies was divided into the School of Administration and the School of Social Studies. By October 1971, the University comprised two Faculties: Engineering and Law seven Schools including that of Environmental Design; two Colleges: Medicine and Education; three Institutes including those of Computer Sciences and Child Health, and two Centres: CEC and CESAC.